Employers’ Requirement to Carry Workers’ Compensation Insurance in Florida.
Employers conducting work in the State of Florida are required to provide workers’ compensation insurance for their employees. Specific employer coverage requirements are based on the type of industry, number of employees and entity organization. To determine coverage requirements for a specific employer, the following information is provided by the Bureau of Compliance.
Need assistance with North Carolina Workers Compensation? Contact us or call 1-866-864-5684.
- Construction Industry – One (1) or more employees, including the owner of the business who are corporate officers or Limited Liability Company (LLC) members. For a list of the trades considered to be in the construction industry see 69L-6.021 Florida Administrative Code.
- Non-Construction Industry – Four (4) or more employees, including business owners who are corporate officers or Limited Liability Company (LLC) members.Please note: Non-construction industry Sole Proprietors or partners in a Partnership are not employees unless they want to be included on the business’ Workers’ Compensation Insurance policy and file a form DWC 251 PDF with the Division of Workers’ Compensation.
- Agricultural Industry – Six (6) regular employees and/or twelve (12) seasonal workers who work more than 30 days during a season but no more than a total of 45 days in a calendar year.
- Out of State Employers must notify their insurance carrier that they are working in Florida. If there is no insurance, the out of state employer is required to obtain a Florida Workers’ Compensation Insurance policy with a Florida approved insurance carrier which meets the requirements of Florida law and the Florida Insurance Code. This means that “Florida” must be specifically listed in Section 3A of the policy (on the Information Page). Get a quoteAn Extraterritorial Reciprocity clause in the home state’s statute allows some out of state Employers to work in Florida temporarily using their home state’s Workers’ Compensation insurance policy.
- Contractors are required to make certain that all sub-contractors have the required Workers’ Compensation Insurance before they begin work on a project. To see the documentation that is required from a sub-contractor, see 69L-6.032 Florida Administrative Code.If the sub-contractor does not have Workers’ Compensation Insurance for its employees, those workers become the employees of the contractor. If an injury occurs, the contractor is responsible for paying the benefits for the work related injury, illness or fatality.
Exemptions are available to business owners who opt out of the insurance coverage protections for themselves and who meet the requirements for an exemption.
Contact Simple Work Comp for information on Florida workers’ compensation requirements. 1-866-684-5684
Simple Work Comp offers affordable workers compensation to thousands of businesses, and free workers compensation policy reviews as a courtesy to business owners. Have your existing workers compensation policy reviewed by one of our workers compensation insurance experts; a no-pressure complimentary service.
Knowledgeable consultants are standing by to deliver fast, accurate, affordable workers compensation quotes.